Skip to main content

Protect clones from manual and automatic deletion

Database Lab clones can be protected from manual and automatical deletion by enabling the protected status of a clone. When enabled no one can delete this clone and automated deletion is also disabled.

tip

Database Lab Engine automatically deletes idle unprotected clones after the idle interval which is defined in the configuration.

caution

Please be careful: abandoned protected clones may cause out-of-disk-space events. Check disk space on a daily basis and delete protected clones once the work is done.

GUI#

From the Database Lab clone page enable or disable the Enable deletion protection checkbox. Database Lab engine page / Create clone

CLI#

Before you run any commands, install Database Lab CLI and initialize configuration. For more information, see Install and initialize Database Lab CLI.

Reference#

Protect a clone#

dblab clone update --protected CLONE_ID
{    "id": "CLONE_ID",    "protected": true,}

Unprotect a clone#

dblab clone update CLONE_ID
{    "id": "CLONE_ID",    "protected": false,}

Also, clones can marked as protected at creation time. See Create a clone.

Related#